Friday, July 22, 2011

President House in New Delhi

Rashtrapati Bhawan was formerly known as "Viceroy's House" and was occupied by the Governor General of India, until independence. Also known as the President's House, the building has a prominent position in New Delhi. Designed by British architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, this classical building uses colors and details specific to Indian architecture. It was completed in 1929 and was officially opened in 1931. It was in 1950 that the president began to live in this ceremonial building and "Viceroy's House" was renamed "Rashtrapati Bhavan." It has 340 rooms decorated with an area of ​​200,000 square meters.

It presents a blend of Mughal and European architectural styles. While Rashtrapati Bhavan is the official residence of President of India, Sansad Bhawan or the Parliament House is the center of political power in India's Parliament House is one of the most magnificent buildings in New Delhi. Designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens and Sir Herbert Baker, which took six years to build. It was inaugurated on January 18, 1927 by the then Governor General of India, Lord Irwin. The massive circular edifice has a circumference of about one third of a mile and extends over six acres.

The beautiful works that make up the architecture of Parliament House so special include the design of sources, both inside and outside the building, statues, murals and 'Jali' marble (mesh) that adorn the windows. Houses Lok Sabha (House of People), Rajya Sabha (Council of the United States) and the old Library Hall (formerly the Princes Chamber). Along with this, not planned garden courts, accommodation for ministers and presidents, parliamentary committees, party offices, important offices of Lok Sabha and Rajya here. The secretariats and offices of the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs are also located here.